• español
  • deutsch
  • english

Ricardo Gago

ricardogago_900x620px
by Beatriz Fernández Viéitez

 

Ricardo Gago was born in august 1949 in Montamarta, a village in the province Zamora. When he is two years old he moves with his parents to La Felguera (Langreo), in Asturias, where he lives until he is seventeen. In the mid-sixties he moves to Majorca. Before settling down in Sineu, he lives in Paguera, Palma and Alaró.

 

 

CAN GILI

The work of Ricardo Gago is displayed in Sineu in a mansion known by the name Can Gili, an architectural gem from the 13th century. The mansion, which also houses Ricardo’s workshop, is situated on one of the loveliest streets of the village, the Calle Major, at number 13. Can Gili is the finding-place of some important archaeological remains and in one of its rooms there are abundant gothic wall-paintings. The mansion used to be a small palace and is named after the owners who lived in it around the 15th century. The mayor Joan Gili and later on the notary Joan Gili, one of the five leaders who joined Janot Colòm to take part in the rebellion against Carlos the fifth in what is known as the “Les Germanies” movement.

The site is unique not only because of its architectural qualities but also because of its historical and archaeological importance. There’s a special relation between the house and Ricardo’s work. Although both of them have their own value, in this case together they create the signet of one of our best artists.

 

 

Ricardo Gago’s work

Ricardo would rather not be pigeonholed into a specific style. He talks with devotion about his maestro Joaquín Torrens. His work is powerful and colourful, his paintings contain a certain mystery, they’re magical. Women play a central role; they are his source of inspiration. The Mediterranean Sea is always present. Sineu, the village which became his home, is portrayed in a big part of his work. Ricardo has immortalised the town’s loveliest spots on canvas and its most beautiful women in bronze and clay.

 

The interview

ricardogago_2

He receives us in his kind and candid way. He shows us his work and talks openheartedly about his life. He makes his visitors feel at home.

 

How would you define your style?

Indefinite. I try to cover as many styles as I can, like a singer who uses his voice in different ways, I don’t want to restrict myself to one particular style. Does this make one more complete? I don’t know, but it makes me feel more complete.

 

How and when did your vocation for art come about?

I remember I was a little boy. I was about six years old when I asked for a box of watercolours. When it was given to me I painted my first picture, I remember it was a painting of a pavilion and a lake with some ducks in it. I remember very well that even then painting was already a necessity.

 

And how did you discover you wanted to dedicate yourself to art professionally?

I always had this desire but it was almost impossible to establish oneself in the world of art, so I thought I should start at the beginning, I should learn how to draw and paint. At first I painted on my own, I took my easel and I went to paint landscapes. Later on I studied intensely and seriously at an art school, the Escuela Libre del Mediterráneo. In the meantime I had a very conventional job but at a certain moment I became engaged in handicraft. I moved to Alaró, to the countryside, and started to make handmade products of clay which I sold in shops, combining this with my training at art school.

 

What do you look for and what do you find in art?

It’s a need. In fact, I think all people have this necessity but perhaps some of us are more daring and we take the step, while others don’t. I try to shape this necessity. When I finish a piece I feel empty, as if I haven’t really done anything, and I feel I have to start all over again.

 

What do you feel when you look at your own work?

Maybe after some time has passed it brings memories, but I prefer watching the reaction of the person who is looking at my work, how it affects him or her. I like observing those who are looking. A work of art affects people in different ways, there reaction can be very different. I enjoy this.

 

Do you think we are prepared for art?

That has to do with education. In our educational system creativity isn’t stimulated, only the practical part of live is being taught. The artistic inclination of many people has been frustrated although others came out stronger as a result of having to stand up against an environment full of obstacles in order to express this hidden part of them and they became great artists.

 

The fact that you were able to act in a consistent way, doing what made you happy, did this help you in your personal growth?

I believe the intention of becoming “a great artist” is natural in some part of our youth, it’s a dream. It’s not something we do deliberately. Every person sees life in his or her way. It comes the way it comes, and we deal with it the moment it comes. Living our lives from day to day and from that point, trying to be happy. This and being passionate about what you do are basic.

 

Tell us about the process of inspiration. How does it work in your case?

In my case it can occur in many ways. The white canvas is a challenge; there is absolutely nothing on it. If you have an idea you make charcoal sketches, and then you start drawing on the canvas, shaping the canvas and bit by bit the drawings fade away transforming the canvas. Actually, it may happen that in the end there is nothing left of the drawing I started with. You shouldn’t be afraid of the white canvas or the lump of clay, they will tell you what to do. The piece is already inside the material, the clay, the canvas, and they will guide you. It’s absorbing work which requires a lot of concentration.

 

Which sizes are you most comfortable with?

The big ones are the most complicated and at the same time the most spectacular ones. Although the artistic value of my latest work, the life-size sculpture of king Jaume II, has gone unnoticed due to interests that don’t have anything to do with me or my work.

 

Which themes inspire you most?

It depends on the moment. Lately my main theme has been the human figure, and particularly women, although it’s also the most difficult one.

 

And which painters inspire you most?

It is difficult to mention any names, this question is difficult to answer, there are so may … We live because of them, we are pieces of a puzzle which has taken shape thanks to the great painters, from the Primitives until today.

 

In which circumstances do you have the best ideas?

There isn’t a specific vital moment, sometimes – probably after I have been dreaming – I get up with an idea and I need to get at the studio to start working. It’s an urge, something you have to spit out. And then you get it done, or not.

 

Does the context of crisis and social anxiety we are living inspire or demotivate?

Times of crisis inspire or destroy; in a certain way they are good for art, they are creative moments. Many great works of art were created and big changes were achieved in times of major crisis. They are a reflection of what is going on.

 

Can art be a therapy?

Yes, absolutely.

 

 

Is an artist born or made?

Both born and made.

 

 

What arose first, your creation of sculptures or paintings?

I started with painting but I first became an artist with sculpting.

 

 

What is or are your favourite technique(s)?

I don’t prefer one specific technique; it makes no difference to me whether I work with brushes, pencils or clay.

 

 

How do you start a piece?

I start blindly, I’m an intuitive person, I let the piece guide me, I don’t direct it. Being an intuitive person I let myself be carried away.

 

 

Which material do you use most when sculpting?

I always work with clay; I shape it, I work on it, I hollow it out, and I bake it. Then it is sent to the foundry to be made in bronze if that is what I want.

 

 

And how do you decide which material you are going to use?

It depends on the moment. It is not always possible to switch from one material to another. It is difficult to work with two types of material at the same time. You need a waiting period to switch from one material to the other.

 

 

Which one of your pieces are you most proud of?

In general I’m proud of the pieces which cause a change in the way I express myself.

 

What do you feel when you sell a piece and have to let it go?

I like it when it stays nearby and when it goes far away I like it when it is paid first, of course (laughter)

 

Tell us. How did you discover Can Gili?

Many years ago I was fascinated by this house which used to be a carpentry. I felt strongly attracted to it. Some time passed and then the owner of the house offered it to me. We decided to buy it and the entire family made an effort because it was in a very bad condition. The things we found in the house are very important, not only from an archaeological point of view but also historically because of the people who lived in the house and because of the language of the paintings they left on the gothic walls.

 

 

How does Can Gili relate to your work?

The “spirits” of the house guide me, tell me what I have to do. The things I found in the house, like the medieval paintings and drawings, influence my work, as well as this “something” almost magic in the house which creates an atmosphere in which I feel very comfortable when I work.

 

 

Why Sineu?

Once again, thanks to my intuition. I first came to Sineu in 1966, by coincidence. I spent Easter here in the house of some friends, I came back, asked around for a house to live in, and here I am.

 

 

What does Sineu mean to you as an artist?

Home is where the heart is. Sineu has been and still is very important in my life.

 

 

How do you start your day in the village?

I start at 7 in the morning having coffee with people from the village, and before I start working I walk my dog for about an hour. In Sineu we have lovely surroundings to go for a walk. I used to go to a bar and make notes and sketches of the people I saw.

 

 

And last but not least. What can the village offer our visitors?

Sineu, being a rural village, is without a doubt the best preserved village. It’s a pleasure to stroll through its streets. It is well-connected by road and rail, is of great historical interest, offers a huge gastronomic variety and it is a village where you can get to know the real Majorca and its people, beyond beaches and sun.

 

 

 

Beatriz Fernández Viéitez
born in 1971, Galician, psychologist, has lived in Sineu for 4 years.

• español
  • deutsch
  • english

Ricardo Gago

ricardogago_900x620px
von Beatriz Fernández Viéitez

 

Ricardo Gago wurde im August 1949 in Montamarta, einem Dorf in der Provinz Zamora geboren. Mit zwei Jahren zieht er mit seinen Eltern nach La Felguera (Langreo) in Asturien, wo er bis zu seinem 17. Lebensjahr lebt. In der Mitte der sechziger Jahre zieht er nach Mallorca. Bevor er sich in Sineu niederlässt, lebt er in Paguera, Palma und Alaró.

 

 

CAN GILI

Die Arbeit Ricardo Gagos wird in Sineu in der Stadtvilla Can Gili, einem architektonisches Kleinod aus dem 13. Jahrhundert, ausgestellt. Das Herrenhaus, in dem sich auch Ricardos Studio befindet, liegt in  einer der schönsten Straßen des Dorfes, die Carrer Major, mit der Hausnummer 13. Einige wichtige archäologische Funde wurden hier gemacht und in einigen Räumen wurden gotischen Wandmalereien entdeckt.
Die Villa war früher ein kleiner Palast, benannt nach den Eigentümern, die um das 15. Jahrhundert darin lebten: Der Bürgermeister Joan Gili und später der Notar Joan Gili, zusammen mit Janot Colòm einer der fünf Führer der Rebellion gegen König Karl V., die als Bewegung „Les Germanies“ bekannt wurde.
Der Ort ist einzigartig, nicht nur wegen seiner Architektur, auch wegen seiner historischen und archäologischen Bedeutung. So entstand eine besondere Beziehung zwischen dem Haus und Gagos Arbeit. Obwohl beide ihren eigenen Wert haben, schaffen sie zusammen das Signet eines unserer besten Künstler.

 

 

Ricardo Gagos Arbeiten

Ricardo möchte sich nicht in einem bestimmten Stil einordnen lassen. Er spricht mit Hingabe über seinen Meister Joaquín Torrens. Seine Arbeit ist kraftvoll und bunt, seine Bilder enthalten ein gewisses Geheimnis, sie sind magisch. Frauen spielen eine zentrale Rolle, sie sind seine Quelle der Inspiration. Das Mittelmeer ist immer vorhanden. Sineu, das Dorf, das seine Heimat geworden ist, ist in einem großen Teil seiner Arbeit dargestellt. Die schönsten Ecken Sineu´s hat er auf Leinwand, die schönsten Frauen in Bronze und Ton verewigt.

 

Das Interview

ricardogago_2

Er empfängt uns herzlich und offen, zeigt uns seine Werke und spricht über sein Leben. Seine Besucher fühlen sich wie zu Hause.

 

Wie würdest du deinen Stil beschreiben?
Unbestimmt. Ich versuche, so viele Stile abzudecken, wie ich kann, wie ein Sänger, der seine Stimme in unterschiedlichen Weisen nutzt, ich will mich nicht auf einen bestimmten Stil beschränken. Macht mich das kompletter? Ich weiß es nicht, aber ich fühle mich kompletter dabei.

 

Wie und wann hast du deine Leidenschaft für die Kunst entdeckt?
Ich erinnere mich, ich war ein kleiner Junge, etwa sechs Jahre alt, als ich mir einen Malkasten mit Wasserfarben wünschte. Als ich ihn bekam, malte ich mein erstes Bild, es war ein Gemälde von einem Pavillon und einem See mit einigen Enten darauf. Ich erinnere mich sehr gut, schon da war die Malerei eine Notwendigkeit.

 

Und wie hast Du entdeckt, das du dich der Kunst professionell widmen möchtest?
Ich hatte immer diesen Wunsch, aber es war fast unmöglich, sich in der Welt der Kunst zu etablieren, so dass ich dachte, ich sollte von Vorne beginnen und Zeichnen und Malen studieren. Am Anfang malte ich für mich selber, nahm meine Staffelei und zog los, Landschaften zu malen. Später studierte ich intensiv und ernsthaft an einer Kunstschule, die Escuela Libre del Mediterráneo. In der Zwischenzeit hatte ich einen sehr konventionellen Job, aber zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt wurde ich engagiert in Handarbeit. Ich zog nach Alaró, auf dem Land, und fing an, handgefertigte Produkte aus Ton, die ich in den Geschäften verkauft werden, die Kombination mit meiner Ausbildung an der Kunstakademie zu machen.
Was suchst du und was findest du in der Kunst?
Es ist eine Notwendigkeit. In der Tat, ich glaube, alle Menschen haben diese Notwendigkeit aber vielleicht einige von uns sind mutiger und machen den Schritt, während andere es nicht tun. Ich versuche, dieser Notwendigkeit Sinn zu geben. Wenn ich ein Werk beendet habe, fühle ich mich leer, als ob ich nicht wirklich etwas getan hätte, und ich muss von vorne beginnen.

 

Was fühlst du, wenn du deine eigenen Arbeit betrachtest?
Vielleicht, wenn einige Zeit vergangen ist, kommen Erinnerungen. Aber ich bevorzuge die Reaktion der Personen zu beobachten, die meine Arbeit betrachten, wie es sie berührt. Ich mag es, Menschen zu beobachten, die genau hinschauen. Ein Kunstwerk berührt Menschen auf unterschiedliche Weise, die Reaktion kann sehr verschieden sein. Ich genieße das.

 

Glaubst Du, dass wir bereit sind für die Kunst?
Das hat mit Bildung zu tun. In unserem Bildungssystem wird Kreativität nicht stimuliert, nur der praktische Teil wird gelehrt. Die künst-
lerische Neigung vieler Menschen wird unterdrückt, obwohl viele große Künstler als Folge daraus erst so groß wurden, weil sie sich gegen eine Umwelt voller Hindernisse stemmen mussten, um diesen verborgenen Teil in ihnen zum Ausdruck bringen zu können.

 

Die Tatsache, dass Du in der Lage bist, in einer konsistenten Art und Weise zu handeln und zu tun, was dich glücklich macht, hat dir in deiner persönlichen Entwicklung geholfen?
Ich glaube, die Absicht, „ein großer Künstler zu sein“ ist in einem Teil unserer Jugend natürlich, aber es ist ein Traum. Es ist nicht etwas, was wir bewusst tun. Jeder Mensch hat seine Sichtweise des Lebens. Es kommt, wie es kommt und wir gehen damit entsprechend um. Leben von Tag zu Tag und von diesem Punkt aus versuchen, glücklich zu sein. Das ist es im Grunde. Und das du das, was du tust, leidenschaftlich machst.

 

Erzähl‘ uns etwas über den Prozess der Inspiration. Wie sieht es in deinem Fall aus?
In meinem Fall kann es in vielerlei Hinsicht ablaufen. Die weiße Leinwand ist eine Herausforderung, ein absolutes Nichts. Wenn du eine Idee hast, fängst du an mit Kohlezeichnungen, dann machst du weiter mit Zeichnungen auf der Leinwand, es nimmt Gestalt an und Stück für Stück verblassen dabei die Zeichnungen auf der Leinwand und die Leinwand verändert sich. Es kann passieren, dass am Ende nichts von der Zeichnung, mit der ich anfing, übrigbleibt. Du darfst keine Angst vor der weißen Leinwand oder dem Klumpen Lehm haben, sie sagen dir, was zu tun ist. Das Werk ist bereits im Inneren des Materials, der Ton, die Leinwand, und sie führen dich. Es ist eine sehr anspruchsvolle Arbeit, die viel Konzentration verlangt.

 

Welche Größen sind Dir am liebsten?
Die großen Arbeiten sind die kompliziertesten und zugleich die spektakulärsten. Obwohl der künstlerische Wert meiner letzten Arbeit, die lebensgroße Skulptur von König Jaume II. unbemerkt blieb durch Interessen, die nichts mit mir oder meiner Arbeit zu tun hatten.

 

Welche Themen begeistern Dich am meisten?
Es hängt vom Moment ab. Zu letzt war mein Hauptthema die menschliche Figur und vor allem Frauen, obwohl es auch das schwierigste ist.

 

Und welche Maler inspirieren Dich am meisten?
Es ist schwierig, Namen zu nennen, schwer zu beantworten, es gibt so viele… Wir leben von ihnen, wir sind Teile eines Puzzles, dessen Form wir den berühmtesten Maler zu verdanken haben, von den primitiven bis zu den modernen.

 

Unter welchen Abständen hast Du die besten Ideen?
Es gibt keinen besonderen Moment, manchmal – vermutlich, nachdem ich geträumt hatte – stehe ich mit einer Idee auf und eile ins Studio, um zu beginnen. Es ist wie ein Drang, etwas ausspucken zu müssen. Und dann bekommst du es hin, oder nicht.

 

Ist der Kontext der Krise und die sozialen Ängste, die wir erleben, inspirierend oder demotivierend?
Krisenzeiten inspirieren oder zerstören, in gewisser Weise sind sie gut für die Kunst, sie sind kreative Momente. Viele große Kunstwerke wurden geschaffen und große Veränderungen wurden erreicht in Zeiten großer Krisen. Sie sind ein Spiegelbild dessen, was vor sich geht.

 

Kann die Kunst Therapie sein?
Ja, absolut.

 

Ein Künstler wird geboren oder gemacht?
Sowohl als auch.

 

Was war zuerst, Bildhauerei oder Malerei?
Ich begann mit der Malerei, aber ich fühlte mich zum ersten Mal als Künstler durch die Bildhauerei.

 

Was ist oder sind Deine Lieblingstechniken?
Ich glaube nicht, eine bestimmte Technik zu bevorzugen, es macht keinen Unterschied für mich, ob ich mit Pinsel, Stifte oder Ton arbeite.

 

Wie startest Du ein Werk?
Ich beginne blind, ich bin ein intuitiver Mensch, lasse mich vom Werk leiten, nicht ich leite es. Als intuitive Person lasse ich mich hinreißen.

 

Welches Material verwendest du am meisten bei der Bildhauerei?
Ich habe immer mit Ton gearbeitet. Ich forme es, arbeite daran, höhle es aus und backe es. Dann sende ich es in die Gießerei, wo eine Bronze daraus gemacht wird, wenn ich möchte.

 

Und wie entscheidest du, welches Material du verwendest?
Das ist zeitabhängig. Nicht immer ist es möglich, von einem Material zum anderen zu wechseln. Und es ist schwierig, mit zwei Arten von Materialen zur gleichen Zeit arbeiten. Für den Wechsel ist eine Wartezeit notwendig.

 

Auf welche deiner Werke bist du am meisten stolz?
Im Allgemeinen bin ich vor allem stolz auf die Werke, die eine Veränderung in der Art, mich auszudrücken, bedeuten.

 

Was fühlst du, wenn du ein Stück verkauft hast und es gehen lassen musst?
Ich mag es, wenn es in der Nähe bleibt, und wenn es weit weg geht,  mag ich es, wenn es zuerst bezahlt wird, natürlich (lacht).

 

Sag uns, wie hast du Can Gili entdeckt?
Schon vor vielen Jahren, als hier noch eine Schreinerei war, faszinierte mich dieses Haus. Ich fühlte mich stark von ihm angezogen. Einige Zeit verging und der Besitzer dieses Hauses bot es mir an. Wir haben uns entschieden, es zu kaufen, ein enormer Kraftakt für die ganze Familie, denn es war in einem sehr schlechten Zustand. Die Dinge, die wir im Haus fanden, sind sehr wichtig, nicht nur aus archäologischer Sicht, sondern auch historisch, durch die Menschen, die hier lebten. Was die Bilder, die sie auf den gotischen Mauern hinterließen, beweisen.

 

Wie beeinflusst Can Gili deine Arbeit?
Die „Geister“ des Hauses leiten mich, sagen mir, was ich zu tun habe. Die Dinge, die ich in dem Haus fand, wie die mittelalterlichen Gemälde und Zeichnungen, beeinflussen meine Arbeit. Dieses „Etwas“, fast Magie, schafft eine Atmosphäre, in der ich mich sehr wohl fühle, wenn ich arbeite.

 

Warum Sineu?
Wieder Dank meiner Intuition. Ich kam zum ersten Mal durch Zufall 1966 nach Sineu. Ich verbrachte Ostern hier im Haus von Freunden, kam zurück, fand ein Haus und hier bin ich.

 

Was macht Sineu für dich als Künstler aus?
Zuhause ist, wo das Herz ist. Sineu war und ist sehr wichtig in meinem Leben.

 

Wie beginnst du deinen Tag im Dorf?
Ich nehme morgens um 7 erst mal einen Kaffee mit Leuten aus dem Dorf und bevor ich mit der Arbeit beginne, gehe ich mit meinen Hund für etwa eine Stunde spazieren. Sineu hat eine schöne Umgebung für Spaziergänge. Früher bin ich in Bars gegangen, um Notizen und Skizzen von Menschen zu machen, die ich sah.

 

Und last but not least. Was bietet das Dorf unseren Besuchern?
Sineu ist ohne Zweifel das am besten erhaltene Dorf. Es ist ein Vergnügen, durch die Gassen zu schlendern. Es ist durch Straße und Schiene gut angebunden, ist von großem historischen Interesse, bietet eine große gastronomische Vielfalt und es ist ein Ort, wo man das ursprüngliche Mallorca kennenlernen kann, abseits von Sonne und Strand.

 

 

LINKS ZU DIESEM BEITRAG:

Galerie CAN GILI
Ricardo Gago in Facebook

Beatriz Fernández Viéitez
Jahrgang 1971, Galizierin, Psychologin, lebt seit 4 Jahren in Sineu.